STORY SUMMIT FILM APPRECIATION SERIES

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

This series is designed to look at film as an art form and to help elevate the experience of the viewing process. There is so much to be learned from studying a few of the masterworks of the 20th century.


In this first series, we will be looking at three world films from international “auteurs”: Jules
and Jim
from France, La Strada from Italy, and Persona from Sweden.


The live discussions of the films will be held once a week on Thursday through the Story
Summit Live Channel. Everyone who participates in the film discussions will be expected to
view the film prior to the virtual discussion.


David Paul Kirkpatrick, former President of Paramount Pictures, will facilitate and host the
discussions. He will also be showing selected clips from the film to illustrate various topics. But it is an open discussion, so please be ready to contribute to the discussion.

SCHEDULE OF DISCUSSIONS

THURSDAY MAY 7th

Jules and Jim

Francois Truffaut’s haunting French New Wave portrayal of Bohemians lost in romantic ideals.

THURSDAY MAY 14th

La Strada

Frederico Fellini’s early work on the masculine-feminine dynamic that led the way in the Italian Neorealism Movement and is still

applicable today.

THURSDAY MAY 21st

Persona

Ingmar Bergman’s observation on identity in the middle of an actress’s mental collapse.

The discussions are scheduled for these times in the various time zones:

4pm Pacific, 5pm Mountain, 6pm Central, 7pm Eastern

 

Where to find the films:
All three films are available to rent or view through the internet. Please watch the films prior to the discussions.

Both Persona and Jules and Jim can be viewed on Amazon Prime for a rental fee of $3.99. La Strada can be viewed for free on YouTube.

If you are a Criterion member, you can watch through their streaming service that includes over 1,000 film classics. There is a free trial for 14 days and you can sign up for one month at $10.99 and watch all three films there.

Netflix only has the movies available through DVD.

Join us:
Please click on the invite button and be invited to each session. We will be sending a prompt on each discussion on the Monday before the Thursday discussion to also remind you to be sure to screen the picture. 

Facebook_circle-flat-wht_128.png
Instagram_circle-flat-wht_128.png